Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Image

Porch sitting used to be the standard in many American neighborhoods of yesteryear. When technology was not so ‘advanced’, and hard working people just wanted to slow down, or when the house simply got too hot before air conditioning was the norm, people headed for the porch to relax, converse and enjoy. There are still lots of reasons to sit on your porch and I’ve listed some of my favorites below. Feel free to add yours –

32 REASONS YOU SHOULD SIT ON YOUR PORCH TONIGHT *

1- To catch a breeze (really inhale the air, take in the freshness)

2-To listen to crickets .

3- You have to sit somewhere to sip {{insert favorite beverage}

4-To watch your children play in the yard.

    What? They’re not out in the yard? Bring them out.

5-It’s a great place to converse with your spouse at the end of the day.

6. There’s no TV out there. (Thank God.)

7. Maybe neighbors will stop by– you could make or rekindle friendships.

8. To connect- through time- with your grandparents, who probably used to do the same thing.

9. To really look at your neighborhood.

10- To pray.

11- Because it’s private and calming on the porch, it’s a good place to talk to kids about tricky topics like the birds and bees. In fact, there will likely be birds and bees in view. 

12- To play old fashioned card games with your kids, drinking lemonade.

13. Lemonade. {{Ahhhh!}}

14. It’s a great place to enjoy many other games.

15. When a boy comes to call on your daughter, it’s a good place for them to talk, near a window, where you can peek.

16. It will help you recover from illness faster, and reduces stress and tension.

17. It lifts your spirits and calms your mind.

18. You see the house from the outside in, giving you a fresh perspective.

19. When you porch sit with a spouse, child or friend, you facilitate conversation and social interaction. Studies show that people who are more socially connected live longer. 

20. If you LAUGH on the porch, there are even more health benefits

21. It fits mighty nicely with strumming the guitar. Johnny Cash thought so.

22. That cute little bird over there, in the bushes, in the nest. That’s why.

23. It’s a creative Southern Tradition

24. It’s a lost art.

25. You’re connecting with the past.  Rascal Flatts thinks so too

25. You can’t do dishes, fold laundry, sweep the floor, stare at the messy room, fret about the closet in disarray when you are sitting on the porch.

27. If you need a quick break, the kids probably won’t look there.

28. It’s a good place to cool off when you feel an argument coming on inside-

29. It’s a good place to warm up, under an afghan with your sweetie. 

30. To read.

31. To tell stories.

32. It’s the perfect place to think. To question. To wonder. To contemplate life.

Too hot out? Take a fan.

Too dark? Bring a candle.

Too cold? Blankets and snuggle.

Too ‘boring’? Calm yourself.

Sitting on the porch can be a five minute…..or fifty minute vacation from the hectic-ness of modern life. Don’t fight it.

Image

Front porch- watch a sunset

Birds are quiet now; they’ve gone to sleep

I can hear the little peepers peep.

Lightning bugs sparkle as they do their dance

Mother Nature leaves nothing to chance.

Temperature’s holding at 72.

No one here but me and you~

Pour me a cold one and set right down

On the old porch swing.

-Excerpt from “Old Porch Swing” by Ellen Schmidt

Sitting on my Front Porch

by Janet Martin

Sitting on my front-porch with loved ones at my knee
Drinking in the music of the twilight’s melody
Tiny sip of glory is this evening paradise
Sitting on my front-porch as my Maker paints the skies
Somewhere in the valley I can hear the cattle low
The pasture-land lies golden-bronze beneath the sunset’s glow
Faintly I can hear the church-bells chiming down the street
Beyond the noisy traffic and the muffled busy feet

Sitting on my front-porch, this my humble palace grand
Apartheid to an orchestra led by Heaven’s hand
Hummingbird and firefly and busy honey-bee
And little children’s laughter joins in Heaven’s melody

Tiny splash of paradise has dropped from Heaven’s brush
Landing on my front-porch in this sacred evening hush
Lemon tea or lemonade either one is fine
Sitting on my front-porch ‘neath the shadow of His vine

Sonny, grab your silver spoons so you can keep the beat
I’ll play my harmonica while sister taps her feet
Standing on His promises, praising Christ the Lord
Sitting on my front-porch I desire nothing more

Image
Front porch- blow bubbles
The front porch was known more in “its day” as a place of sanctuary to make time to sit back and relax, to be quiet and have time for contemplation, to be closer to nature, and to be closer to family, friends and other people of the community
-Cheryl Perrault (from “The Lost Art of Porch Sitting”)

*don’t have a porch? Then consider this list of 32 reasons to add one to your home.

Image

Front porch- read a book

Image

Back patios are nice too

“Mayberry”

Rascal Flatts

Sometimes it feels like this world is spinning faster
Than it did in the old days
So naturally we have more natural disasters
From the strain of a fast pace

Sunday was the day of rest
Now its one more day for progress
And we can’t slow down
Cause more is best
It’s all an endless process

Well I miss Mayberry
Sitting on the porch drinking ice cold Cherry — Coke
Where everything is black & white
Picking on a Six String
Where people pass by and you call them by their first name
Watching the clouds roll by
bye bye

Sometimes I can hear this old earth shouting
Through the trees as the wind blows
Thats when I climb up here on this mountain
To look through God’s window

Now I can’t fly
But I’ve got two feet
To get me high up here
Above the noise and city streets
My worries disappear

Well I miss Mayberry
Sitting on the porch drinking ice cold Cherry — Coke
Where everything is black & white
Picking on a Six String
Where people pass by and you call them by their first name
Watching the clouds roll by
bye bye

Sometimes I dream I’m driving down an old dirt road
Not even listed on the map
I pass a dad and son carrying a fishing pole
But I always wake up everytime I try to turn back

Well I miss Mayberry
Sitting on the porch drinking ice cold Cherry Coke
Where everything is black & white
Picking on a Six String
Where people pass by and you call them by their first name
Watching the clouds roll by
bye bye

