Tags

, , ,

I have a new article up over at Suscipio for Women and I’d like to share a teaser- It’s called “You Can Fly” and it suggests looking at the changes in your life in terms of seeing God’s handiwork in it.  My friend Jenny started the Suscipio site and it’s really beautiful so I suggest you finish reading the piece over at her place. You’ll love her site! Anyway, my piece starts like this…..

My 21-year-old daughter, a college student studying abroad called from her destination, and shared her first view and impression of Europe. “I was sipping my coffee and eating a croissant as the plane approached London,” she whispered to me over the phone quickly, “we were not allowed to land right away so we were circling the city. The sun was just coming up over Big Ben and London Bridge in a slight fog. I felt like I was in Peter Pan!”

Peter Pan. Wasn’t I just reading Peter Pan to this precious girl? Wasn’t she, just a moment ago, snuggled up by my side in her Pooh Bear pajamas and looking at the Walt Disney Golden Book as I shared about Wendy and Michael and John Darling? My darling. My sweet, sweet girl. Think of a wonderful thought…any merry little thought….off you go….you can fly…. And **sniff**, she did.

Caroline didn’t leave home to go to school like many children do at five to investigate kindergarten. She stayed at home eight years past five as we explored homeschooling and she burst into a studious little pupil. She taught herself to read when she was three and threw herself into every book she could find. She was my kitchen buddy, my reading buddy, my planting-flowers-along-the-front-walkway buddy. She was interested in anything and everything and was my happy little shadow. It seemed like Caroline’s childhood would go on forever. And now – just like that! She was all grown up and on the other side of the world.

When Caroline boarded the plane last weekend she had been fighting a virus. She sounded sniffly and I was nervous with her traveling so far for the very first time since she was feeling so under the weather. But she insisted on keeping her plane date, seeing as doing otherwise would have necessitated that she travel alone instead of with her college group. And so, I prayed and waited for that ‘S’ sign for Skype at the bottom of my computer tab to signal to me that a message was waiting, and that she had made it to London, and then Ireland safely. As I waited, and checked….and rechecked. I poured some coffee and piddled about the kitchen, my thoughts turned to her high school years, which, I reminded myself, were not unlike the present, when I waited for her to phone or text to let me know she had safely made it across town. And now she was across the world.

Finally, the ‘S’ sign with the red ‘1’ , signifying one message, danced on my computer screen. Caroline had arrived. Not just in London, but in Ireland, which was her final destination for study. I could breathe again.

It hit me then, this whole ‘life is a journey’ thing. Figuratively and sometimes, quite literally, life is definitely a journey and a bittersweet one, as we say goodbye and say hello and say goodbye, over and over. Sometimes we plan these journeys- like Caroline did. And sometimes- let’s face it- they simply come upon us…..  READ MORE HERE

