Tags

, , , , , ,

What have I done for my spouse today?

What have I done to help make his life easier, more meaningful, happier?

How have I supported him/her? Have I prayed for him/her? Have I spoken an encouraging word? Have I hugged him/her? Given an encouraging pat? A gentle kiss? An eye-lock with the message of my devotion and even yearning?

In what way have I helped him/her on this journey of life and eased the natural burdens of it?

Does he/she know I love him/her?

How?

If I speak in human and angelic tongues but do not have love, I am a resounding gong or a clashing cymbal.And if I have the gift of prophecy and comprehend all mysteries and all knowledge; if I have all faith so as to move mountains but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give away everything I own, and if I hand my body over so that I may boast but do not have love, I gain nothing.

 Love is patient, love is kind. It is not jealous, [love] is not pompous, it is not inflated, it is not rude, it does not seek its own interests, it is not quick-tempered, it does not brood over injury. It does not rejoice over wrongdoing but rejoices with the truth. It bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

1Corinthians 13: 1-7 

My grandfather was very devoted to my grandmother. Whenever we gathered at their home for a holiday meal, everyone crowded around the table and then Grandpa Kloska said grace. Then, with Grandma (who had worked very hard in the kitchen preparing the large Polish meal) sitting down, he promptly served her FIRST. This made an impression on me. Amidst many guests, Grandpa put Grandma first. I hope to set a similar example to my children and always put my husband first, as my spouse and greatest helpmate.

 

Click here to read about your influence on the man you love.

